DIY Alarm Clock

For a long time I used my smartphone (which is not that smart by the way) as an alarm clock. But some days ago I decided to create my own alarm clock with Arduino.

I wanted to have an original way of showing the time, I realised that LED matrix were quite cheap, so here is a 3D image of the idea I had :

DIY Alarm Clock project

3D image of my idea – made with Blender

The green lines corresponds to the seconds. The “box” will probably be done in wood (so the picture is not 100% accurate) but I’m sure about the way i’ll place the LEDs.

Here are the features I want to have :

  • simple alarm with a buzzer
  • display time or date
  • control will be done thank’s to a gesture sensor :

    RGB and Gesture Sensor – APDS-9960

    That’s right I want to control it minority report style !

  • Thank’s to the sensor above, I’ll also be avaible to know what is the luminosity in the room and therefore adapt the brightness of the screen.

I’ve already ordered the components, I’ll keep you informed as soon as I start building the project.

Leave a comment

